
 
 
 
  
 
 
 
 

NOTICE OF FEE INCREASE - $75 
 
Effective January 1, 2018, California Government Code section 27388.1 (SB2 – Building 
Homes and Jobs Act) requires that documents accepted for recording at the Tulare 
County Recorder’s Office be charged an additional seventy-five dollars ($75) fee per 
title, unless exempted by statute. 
 
The bill imposes a mandate on County Recorders to charge an additional $75 at the time of recording every 
real estate instrument, paper, or notice required or permitted by law to be recorded, except those expressly 
exempted from payment of recording fees, per each transaction per parcel of real property, not to exceed 
$225. 
 
Only an expressly limited number of statutory exemptions exist regarding the collection of this fee.  When an 
exemption is applicable, a valid declaration of exemption must be placed on the face of each document, 
or on the cover page, prior to depositing with the Recorder, otherwise the fee will be assessed and 
collected.  Following are samples of applicable statutory exemptions to be used on the first page of each 
document: 
 

 Document is subject to the imposition of documentary transfer tax and includes a declaration showing 
the amount of documentary transfer tax paid at the time of recording 

 Exempt from fee per GC 27388.1 (a) (2); recorded concurrently “in connection with” a transfer 
subject to the imposition of documentary transfer tax” 

 Exempt from fee per GC sec 27388.1 (a) (2); Document represents a transfer of real property that is a 
residential dwelling to an owner-occupier 

 Exempt from fee per GC 27388.1 (a) (2); recorded concurrently “in connection with” a transfer of 
real property that is a residential dwelling to an owner-occupier” 

 Exempt from fee per GC 27388.1 (a) (1); fee cap of $225 reached”  
 Exempt from the fee per GC 27388.1 (a) (1) Not related to real property  

 
Failure to include a specified statutory exemption reason will result in the imposition of the $75 
Building Homes and Job Act fee.   
 
This fee is collected on behalf of the State of California and funds are deposited with the 

State of California and may not be available for refund.  The County Recorder only 
collects the fee on behalf of the State of California.  Our staff has no discretion to 

exempt documents from the fee except as specifically provided by Government Code 
Section 27388.1. 

Thank you for your understanding. 

                                                                        Roland P. Hill   
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