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Assessor's Message

Tara K. Freitas, CPA

It is an honor to present the Assessor/Clerk-Recorder’s 2022
Annual Report to the people of Tulare County. This report
contains information related to the assessment of real and
business property as well as summaries of the many services
provided by the County Clerk and Recorder.

The total net value of the 2022/2023 assessment roll is $43.17
billion, an increase of $2.8 billion (6.9%) from the previous
fiscal year. The percentage of roll growth is consistent

with what has been reported by counties throughout the
state, reflecting a steady volume of real estate sales, new
construction projects and continued market value increases.
County roll growth typically results from the reassessment of
properties that changed ownership being brought to current
market value levels, which is a normal occurrence during

the tax year and a requirement of the California Revenue
and Taxation Code. While the total roll value for the County
increased by 6.9%, the assessed value of most properties

increased only 2% due to the protections of Proposition 13.

State exemptions resulted in property tax savings of nearly
$15 million for homeowners, disabled veterans, non-profit
organizations and owners of affordable housing. In addition,
$49 million was saved by local farmers and ranchers whose
properties receive Williamson Act tax benefits. I'm grateful
these benefits are available to so many qualifying property

owners.

The revenue generated from local property taxes funds vital
public services such as schools, first responders, cities and
special districts. A chart illustrating the allocations of property
tax revenues can be found on page 11 of this report.

The 2022 tax roll reflects the great work of our team of
professionals who provide excellent customer service and
continue to improve our ability to produce fair, accurate
and timely valuations. Over the past year, our management
team has collaborated to review opportunities to empower
our staff, redefine our processes and improve our techno-
logy. One notable development from these discussions is

the department’s new Mission, Vision and Guiding Values
statement that can be found on page 4. The guiding values
are intentionally bookended by our two most important
responsibilities: 1) outstanding customer service, and 2)
stewardship. While all guiding values are important, outstan-
ding customer service is at the forefront. Outstanding service
meets the needs of the public in the most efficient manner
when time and resources are put to their most beneficial use.

Leveraging technology to improve public services might be
what is remmembered most by our department in 2022. The
Assessor and Auditor’s offices have successfully converted

all County property tax data to a new property management
system that will modernize our processes and improve effi-
ciency. Megabyte Property Tax Systems has been partnering
with county assessors to organize their property and roll data
for more than 35 years and is currently utilized in 36 California
counties. The new system will allow County stakeholders and
taxpayers to access property tax information efficiently and
securely.

We're also in the midst of employing modern scanning tech-
nology to convert more than three million paper records and
documents into digital format. Once all Assessor records have
been scanned and uploaded into the new Megabyte system,
department workflow processes will convert to a paperless
system that will save the County money and improve
efficiency.

In the Clerk-Recorder’'s Office, we are exploring new indexing
software in hopes of utilizing technology to improve the
public’s ability to research recorded documents and improve
the efficiency of our operations.

It is my honor to serve the residents and business owners

of Tulare County as your Assessor/Clerk-Recorder. | feel
privileged to serve alongside so many hardworking profes-
sionals. We hope you find this report useful. As always, please
do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or
suggestions on how we might serve you better.
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OFFICE OF THE COUNTY OF TULARE
ASSESSOR/CLERK-RECORDER

Our Mission, Vision, and Guiding Values

Our mission defines why we exist; what we do. Our vision describes who we aspire to be
in the future. Our guiding values describe our shared behavioral commitments and
priorities as we work together in a team-oriented department.

Our Mission

Our mission is to prepare a fair and accurate property tax roll in accordance with the
laws of the state of California in a timely manner, as well as safeguard important public
documents. Essential to that mission is a commitment to providing excellent service,
practicing fiscal responsibility, and operating efficiently with the best interests and well-
being of the public in mind.

Our Vision

To provide exceptional customer service in an accurate, innovative, and efficient manner
while working in teams that emphasize mutual respect, transparency, and collaboration.

Our Guiding Values

Our focus is on empowering our employees, evaluating our processes, and maximizing
our productivity as a department. In doing so, we commit to:

* Outstanding Customer Service - We seek to consistently meet and exceed the needs
of our customers, both internal and external, through empathy, education, and
understanding.

* Mutual Trust and Respect - We treat each other in a transparent, helpful, and kind
manner.

® Collaboration - We work in teams that commit to exhibit a can-do attitude and hold
ourselves accountable.

® Accurate and Timely Services - We strive to provide correct and timely information in
a professional manner.

* Employee Growth and Development - We strive to motivate and support everyone’s
growth and develop their skill sets.

* Open Two-Way Communication - We communicate with one another and the public
clearly and honestly and practice nonjudgmental, active listening.

* Stewardship - We commit to being good stewards of public funds by putting our time
and resources to the most beneficial use.



The Assessor/Clerk-Recorder’s Office

consists of three divisions that perform
a wide variety of duties.

ASSESSOR

The Assessor has the responsibility of
annually discovering and assessing all
property within the county as required
by law. The Assessor must produce and
deliver an assessment roll by July 1 of
each year. The assessment roll becomes
the base upon which local property
taxes are levied, collected and distri-
buted to schools, cities, redevelopment
successor agencies, special districts and
the County of Tulare.

COUNTY CLERK

The Clerk’s Office issues birth, death
and marriage certificates and accepts
the filing of Fictitious Business Name
Statements, among other documents.

COUNTY RECORDER

The Recorder's Office is responsible
for recording, indexing and filing legal
documents, such as property transfer
records, liens, deeds, financial state-
ments and other notices. The office
also computes and collects filing fees.
This repository of records is available to
the public for research.

TULARE COUNTY
PAST ASSESSORS

Tara K. Freitas

2021*-Present**

Roland Hill 2010-2021
Gregory Hardcastle 1986-2010
Lawrence M. Nichols 1977*-1986
Carroll E. Cannon 1973-1977
Herman F. Matney 1965*-1973
Phillip U. Lucas 1955-1965
George R. Prestige 1926-1955
Thomas H. Blair 1910-1926
Arthur Crowley 1902-1910
J.F. Gibson 1894-1902
Alex S. Gilliam 1893-1894
D.F. Coffee 1890-1893
Seth Smith 1882-1890
F.C. Jefferds 1871-1882
W.J. Ellis 1869-1871
T.H. Hawkins 1867-1869
A.H. Glassock 1865-1867
H.C. Townsend 1865*
E.H. Dumble 1863*-1865
R.B. Sageley 1861-1863
T.C. Hays 1858-1861
Claude G. Sayle 1855-1858
J.B. Hatch 1853*-1855
Thomas McCormick 1853*
James B. Davis 1852

*Appointed

**Elected by voters June 2022



We at the Assessor's Office are very
grateful for the hard work and leadership
provided by the Board of Supervisors.
The Board is the governing body of the
County and represents each of the five
supervisorial districts. Board members
are elected officials serving four-year
terms. The board chairman and vice-
chair positions rotate annually among
the five members.

The Board sets policy for the Assessor’s
Office and other County departments,
oversees the County budget, adopts ordi-
nances on local matters, and establishes
land-use policies that affect unincor-
porated areas of the county. Board
members also make appointments to
the Assessment Appeals Board, County
advisory boards and commissions.

The Board of Supervisors meets weekly
on Tuesdays at 9:00 a.m., unless indicated
otherwise on the calendar, in the Board
Chambers inside the Administrative
Offices building. For information about
Board of Supervisors meetings, visit

https://tularecounty.ca.gov/board/

OFFICE LOCATION

Tulare County Board of Supervisors
County of Tulare Administrative Offices
2800 W. Burrel Ave.

Visalia, CA 93291

CONTACT

E-mail: AskBOS@TulareCounty.ca.gov
call: (559) 636-5000

Office hours:

Monday-Thursday 7:30 a.m.- 5:30 p.m.
Friday: 8:00 a.m.- 12:00 p.m.

Closed on holidays

DISTRICT 1
LARRY MICARI

DISTRICT 2
PETE VANDER POEL Il

DISTRICT 4
EDDIE VALERO

DISTRICT 5
DENNIS TOWNSEND

Dinuba

q Three Rivers
Woodlake

Exeter 1

Lindsay

Porterville

Pixley



CITY & COUNTY
AGENCIES

Provide copies of building

COUNTY RECORDER

Provides copies of deeds and other

o recorded documents.
permits issued.

ASSESSOR

Appraises all real property and personal

property (business equipment, boats and

airplanes) throughout the county.

AUDITOR-CONTROLLER

Applies the appropriate tax rate and
special assessments to determine the
amount of property taxes owed.

TREASURER-TAX
COLLECTOR

Mails the property tax bills and
collects payments.

AUDITOR-CONTROLLER

Allocates the money to local taxing
agencies, including the County, schools,
cities and special districts.




TOP 20
BUSINESSES

The Tulare County Assessment Roll increased by 6.9% These businesses represent private
in 2022, the 11th consecutive year of growth. The gross sector investment in Tulare County.
assessed value reached $44.6 billion and the net taxable They are ranked by the amount of

value after exemptions is $43.2 billion. We continue to total business property assessment.
see assessment roll growth from steady real estate sales,
new construction and consistent market value increases.

CALIFORNIA DAIRIES INC

These growth factors affirm a growing local economy and
help to provide the tax revenues needed to provide critical LAND O'LAKES

services. VENTURA COASTAL LLC

SETTON PISTACHIO TERRA BELLA

2013 SAPUTO CHEESE AND PROTEIN LLC
$274 UNITED PARCEL SERVICE INC
$274.5
CALGREN DAIRY FUELS
2014
s28.5 DREYERS GRAND ICE CREAM INC
$28816
SAPUTO CHEESE USA INC
2015
$303 I LA Tals
$302.87 FOSTER POULTRY FARMS
2016
T — TREEHOUSE CALIF ALMONDS LLC
$316.75 AMAZON.COM SERVICE INC
2 — TR e
$330.94 BEST BUY
2018 WESTERN MILLING LLC
$347 I
$34736 WAL-MART STORES EAST LP
2019 VF OUTDOOR INC
$36.5 (NI
$365.13 PENINSULA PACKAGING LLC
2020 GRAPHIC PACKAGING INTL INC
$383 NI
$383.23
2021
oy 00000000 |
$403.73
2022
$432 I
$431.72

B Assessment Roll History (Billions)
Property Tax Revenue (Millions)




ASSESSMENT GROWTH
BY CITY

VISALIA TULARE PORTERVILLE
50,708 Assessments 21,868 Assessments 18,246 Assessments
$14,645 M $5,521 M $3,481 M

LINDSAY DINUBA EXETER
3,103 Assessments 6,776 Assessments 3,693 Assessments
$522 M $1,489 M $711 M

FARMERSVILLE WOODLAKE UNINCORPORATED AREA

2,864 Assessments 2,088 Assessments 65,953 Assessments

$381 M $315 M $16,102 M
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APARTMENTS

2022 INCREASE BY
CATEGORY

Proposition 13 limits real Automated Value Review

property tax increases to $210,617,]83

a maximum of 2% unless a

: New Construction
change of ownership or new

construction occurs. $39817921090

Consumer Price Index

$884,493,219

Change of Ownership

$963,164,274



UNDERSTANDING
PROPOSITION 13

On June 6, 1978, California voters overwhelmingly approved Proposition 13, a
property tax limitation initiative. This amendment to California's Constitution
was the taxpayers' collective response to dramatic increases in property taxes.

Prop. 13 rolled back local real estate assessments to 1975 market value levels,
limited the property tax rate to 1% plus the rate necessary to fund local voter-ap-
proved bonded indebtedness, and capped future property tax increases.

Prior to 1978, real property was appraised cyclically, with no more than a five-year
interval between reassessments, keeping assessed values at or near current

market value levels.

Prop. 13 created an acquisition-based tax system which limits the annual assess-
ment growth of real property to 2% or the rate of inflation, whichever is lower.
Taxable values of real property are established or modified only when taxable
property is sold or newly constructed. As a result, two identical properties can
have different assessed values depending on when they were purchased. These
restrictions allow property taxes to be predictable for owners of real estate and
for entities that rely on tax dollars for funding.

ALLOCATION OF
PROPERTY TAX REVENUE

7.6%
Cities in Lieu
of Vehicle
License Fees
(VLF)

Source: Tulare County Auditor-Controller

1.6%

Redevelopments



BUSINESS &
PERSONAL PROPERTY

Business property and personal property are appraised annually at current market

value. All businesses with $100,000 or more in personal property or that are asked by the
Assessor must file an annual statement listing supplies, equipment and fixtures. This
division also values boats, personal watercraft and aircraft. The threshold for business and

personal property to be taxable is $10,000 in assessed value.

Auditor-appraisers from the Assessor’'s Office perform site visits for any business that has
not filed for the last three or more consecutive years, correcting bills when appropriate
and eliminating bills for businesses no longer in operation.

Many businesses with personal property are subject to audit every four years by law.

2022-2023 2019-2020

71,833,904 61,286,915

40,579,807 26,358,952

1,476,207,465 1,011,865,862

1,421,806,616 1,103,510,550

> Personal Property

2022-2023 2019-2020

1,531,519,224 1,417,921,173

601,918,020 562,179,583

) Personal Property

> Aircraft

) Boats / Vessels

) Fixtures

) Fixtures



Agriculture has been the mainstay of Tulare County's economy since

non-native settlers first arrived in the mid-1800s. They planted wheat

and barley and developed rudimentary canal systems that made

it possible to irrigate field crops, grapes, nuts, peaches and citrus.

Elijah Packwood brought the first milk cows to Tulare County in 1850.

Today, Tulare County produces more than 240 different crops, and

nearly one in four jobs is tied to agriculture.

Many agricultural commmodities and crops grown in Tulare County

are not assessable. Milk, the county’'s most valuable ag commodity, is of Total Tax Roll

not assessed. Livestock and poultry, together with the commodities

they produce, are second in value; but neither the animals nor the

commodities they produce are assessable. In addition, no annual

plantings are subject to taxation. These include corn, alfalfa, silage 2022 Total Assessed Value

Williamson Act Planted Acres

and cotton. All permanent plantings are exempt from taxation until
the year they become productive, which is the fourth year for grapes

and the fifth year for trees.

The Sustainable Groundwater Management Act (SGMA) continues to

impact property owners who depend on groundwater for irrigation.

SGMA was passed by the state legislature in 2014 to bring ground- $4° 89 B

water basins into balanced levels of pumping and recharge. As the Savings from Williamson Act
market for ag properties reacts to the requirements of SGMA, it is the

responsibility of county assessors to reflect the changing market in

their annual determination of fair and accurate assessments. Accurate
valuations will largely depend on sales of similar properties. Our agri-

culture appraisers are closely examining these transactions as they
occur. We encourage the farming commmunity to share information on
ag property sales, especially when sale prices appear to be affected by
SCMA requirements. Sales of agricultural land as of Jan. 1, 2022, did not
indicate a decline in market value has taken place.

STRUCTURAL IMPROVEMENTS

: I ' ' ' ' '

2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022



The Williamson Act, also referred to as the Ag Preserve, has
been saving farmers and ranchers money since its inception in
1965. The program enables local governments, such as Tulare
County, to sign contracts with landowners to restrict their land
to agricultural, open-space or approved compatible uses. In
exchange for agreeing to restrict the use of their property,
landowners receive substantially reduced property tax assess-
ments. According to the California Department of Conservation,
the average tax savings can be as much as 83% depending
upon how recently a property has changed ownership. The
minimum benefit amount is 10%.

The Tulare County Resource Management Agency (RMA)
accepts applications for Ag Preserve contracts until Aug. 31.
When applications are approved by the Board of Supervisors,
Williamson Act assessments take effect the following tax year.

The minimum parcel size requirements to qualify for an Ag
Preserve contract are 10 acres for irrigated farmland (prime
land) and 40 acres for grazing land (non-prime land, usually
located in the foothills or mountains). The term for contracts
is nine years. However, since the contract term automatically
renews on each anniversary date of the contract, the effective
term is essentially indefinite.

As with all properties in the Ag Preserve, the Assessor's Office
annually sends questionnaires to owners of these parcels to
compile data that is used to ensure Williamson Act assess-
ments are fair and accurate.

Before applying for a new contract, it's advisable to consider
the cost to cancel the contract if there are plans to convert

the property from ag to a different use, develop the property
or sell it to a developer in the next nine years. Contracts may
be terminated by initiating a process called non-renewal, but
this process requires the full contract term to expire before the
contract is terminated. Contracts may be canceled without
completing the non-renewal process, but cancellation requires
payment of a hefty fee equal to 12.5% of the full market value of
the property as of the date of cancellation. This fee is specified

by the legislature and goes directly to the state.

Further information regarding the Williamson Act can also be
found on the state’s website at conservation.ca.gov.

Farmland Security Zone (FSZ) is an agricultural preserve
surrounding municipal boundaries to limit urban sprawl. FSZ
contracts are similar to Williamson Act (WA) contracts, except
the term is 18 years. In Tulare County, 10,526 acres are under
FSZ contract and 317,960 are under WA contract.

2014/2015
$2 503,889

AB 1265
CHARGES

Subvention funds from the state, intended to
partially replace local tax revenue lost from the
Williamson Act, ended in the 2008/2009 tax year. The
California State Legislature passed AB 1265 in 2011,
allowing counties to collect a calculated charge on
each parcel with a Williamson Act contract. The legis-
lation also shortened the contract term from 10 years
to nine, and Farmland Security Zone contracts from
20 years to 18. AB 1265 charges go straight to the
County's general fund. While the amount collected
enables the County to continue this beneficial
program, it does not make up 100% of the tax relief

provided.

2018/2019
$4.157,345
2020/2021
$4 454,965
2021/2022
$4.784,580

2019/2020
$3,981,050

@0
el
(o))
SN
9)
B
oM
N&H

2016/2017
$3,118,689

2015/2016
$2,758,429

CLCA & FSZ
o Total Tax Relief

$2.85B 14,087

Assessed Value Parcels
of CLCA & FSZ Receiving
Parcels Reductions




OTHER WAYS TO SAVE

Solar System: The initial purchaser of

a building with an active solar energy
system may qualify for an assessment
exclusion. Solar systems added to
existing buildings are automatically
excluded.

Calamities: Properties damaged by
fire or other causes may qualify for a
temporary reduction in taxable value.

Property tax exemptions and exclusions allow for tax savings
under qualifying circumstances. Exemptions prevent all or a
portion of an assessment from being taxed. Exclusions protect
property from assessment or reassessment resulting from
qualifying ownership changes or new construction.

Proposition 19, passed by a slim margin of voters in 2020, made
sweeping changes to property owners' ability to transfer their
Proposition 13 assessed values.

PARENT-TO-CHILD EXCLUSION

Transfers between parents and their children (or between
grandparents and their grandchildren, under limited
circumstances) are not reassessed if certain conditions are
met and the proper application is timely filed.

Total: 811
Tax Relief: $81,897,767

WELFARE EXEMPTION

Property can be exempted from taxation if used exclusively
for religious, hospital or charitable purposes and if owned or
held in trust by non-profit organizations operating for those

purposes.

Total: 660
Tax Relief: $746,632,224

HOMEOWNERS' EXEMPTION

Taxpayers who own their homes and claim them as their
primary residences may be eligible for a Homeowners'
Exemption. The exemption reduces a property’s taxable
value by $7,000, or $70 in taxes. It is the most frequently
claimed exemption.

Total: 37,931
Total Tax Reduction: $265,502,860

DISABLED VETERANS' EXEMPTION

The Disabled Veterans' Exemption reduces the property tax
liability for qualified veterans who, due to a service-related
injury or disease, have been rated 100% disabled or are being
compensated at the 100% rate due to unemployability.

Total: 728
Total Tax Reduction: $101,337,627



MARKET VALUE

The price the home could be sold for.

ASSESSED VALUE

The basis of the property owner's tax bill.

1988
TRANSFER TO 2008

CHILD DECLINE-IN-VALUE

A property transfer The home’s market value dips

typically triggers a reas- below its inflation-adjusted

sessment. However, Prop. purchase price. Prop. 8 (1978)

1978 58 (1986) allows the home allows the home to be temporarily
PROP. 13 to transfer from owner to assessed based on its market

) , child without a reassess-
Requires a home's value.

ment to market value.
assessed value to be

pased on its market
value, increased by up to
2% per year for inflation.
Whenever it is sold, it is
again taxed at its market
value. Prop. 13 also rolled
pack assessed values to
their 1975 levels.

2014
RECOVERY

The home's market
value recovers and
it isagain taxed

at its inflation-ad-

2005

justed purchase
1970 1985 HOME SOLD 4
price.
BEDROOM '
HOME ADDED The home is sold
PURCHASED and reassessed to
The addition of a iani-
From 1970 to e A " market Yalue, S|'gn|
1977 the home is edroom increases the ficantly increasing
home's assessed value to the tax bill.

taxed based on its

reflect the added market
market value.

value of the bedroom.



NOV. 2020
PROPOSITION 19

Places new restriction
on the Parent-Child and
Grandparent-Grandchild
Transfer Exclusions. See

page 19 for more info.

2021
TRANSFER TO CHILD UNDER PROP. 19

The property owner passes away and leaves the home

to their child. The current assessed value of the home
exceeds the market value of the home, less $1 million.
The child moves into the home and files a Homeowners'
Exemption claim. The child inherits parent’s tax base and

the property is not reassessed.




TEMPORARY
DECLINE IN VALUE

In 1978, California voters passed Proposition 8, a constitu-
tional amendment that allows a temporary reduction in
assessed value when real property suffers a decline in value. A
decline in value occurs when the current market value of real
property is less than the current adjusted base year value (i.e.,
Prop. 13 value) as of January 1.

The decline in value may be the result of changes in the
real estate market, the neighborhood or the property itself.
When a property's market value exceeds its adjusted base
year value, the Assessor must return the taxable value to

its adjusted base year value. The recovery of the residential
real estate market has allowed the Assessor to restore many

properties to their adjusted base year values.

Prop. 8 assessments can be achieved through formal assess-
ment appeals, informal petitions to the Assessor or Assessor

initiated reviews.

ASSESSOR
INITIATED REVIEW

Following the stark decline in the real estate market in
2007/2008, the Tulare County Assessor's Office developed

a computer-assisted value review program that continues

to provide tax relief to thousands of property owners. The
program uses local sales to calculate individual market values
of single-family residential properties. It then compares each
property’'s market value to its adjusted base year value (Prop.
13) and enrolls the lower of the two values on the annual tax
roll. Property owners dissatisfied with the outcome of the
automated review should contact the Assessor to request an
appraiser review the assessment for accuracy before deciding if

an assessment appeal is warranted.

Note: The consistent reduction of parcels in decline-in-value
status over time is clearly indicative of a recovery of the real
estate market following The Great Recession of 2008.

2022/2023

5,690
$166,399,115

2021/2022

8,123
$355,350,793

2020/2021

9,356
$568,997,173

2019/2020

11,238
$664,497,621

2018/2019

11,910
$772,948,761

2017/2018

14,793
$937,583,938

2016/2017
19,436
$1171,994,677

2015/2016

26,491
$1,500,606,479

2014/2015

32,652
$1,733,983,223

2013/2014

46,769
$2,655,305,126

2012/2013

49,594
$3,151,257,696

B Parcels Reviewed
M Reduction in Value




| PROPOSITION 19

Proposition 19, approved by voters in Novemlber 2020, made
significant changes to property tax benefits for families, seniors,
severely disabled persons and victims of natural disasters.

Prop. 19 imposes new limits on intergenerational transfer
exclusions, the ability to transfer property to children or
grandchildren without reassessment. Prior law, set forth in
Propositions 58 and 193, allowed for the transfer of a principal
residence in addition to any other real property up to a limit of
$1 million in taxable value. The new legislation limits the types
of properties allowed to be transferred without reassessment to
principal residences (family homes) and family farms. All other
property types - including commercial, industrial or homes not
used as principal residences, such as vacation or rental homes
- no longer qualify for reassessment exclusion. Previously, there
was no value limit on principal residences transferred from
parent to child or grandparent to grandchild, whereas now the
limit of value to be exempted from reassessment will be the
current taxable value plus $1 million.

FORMER LAW
(BEFORE 02/16/2021)

Principal residence of transferor

PRINCIPAL
RESIDENCE

No value limit

land may be excluded)

OTHER REAL
PROPERTY

factored base year value

GRANDPARENT
TO
GRANDCHILD

FILING
PERIOD

transfer to third party

Residence and homesite (excess

Transferor lifetime limit of $1 million of

Parent(s) of grandchild, who qualifies
as child(ren) of grandparent, must be
deceased on date of transfer

File claim within 3 years or before

Our office receives an average of 500 applications annually
for protection under the intergenerational transfer exclusion.
It is estimated this statutory change will result in an annual
increase of $9 million in assessed value for Tulare County.

For persons 55 or older or disabled, transfer of a base year
value on a principal residence may now take place up to
three times and may occur anywhere within California.
Previously, base year value transfers were limited to one
occurrence and only within the same county. The disaster
relief exclusions also now apply to transfers throughout the
state as opposed to within the same county or counties that
had approved intercounty transfers. For all of these exclusion
types, the effective date is April 1, 2021.

More information on Prop. 19 can be found on the state Board

of Equalization website at boe.ca.gov/prop19

PARENT-CHILD &
GRANDPARENT-GRANDCHILD
EXCLUSIONS

PROPOSITION 19
EFFECTIVE 02/16/2021




ASSESSMENT
APPEALS

When taxpayers disagree with the values established for their properties, they often
contact the Assessor’s Office to share their concerns. Through informal dialogue and
exchange of information, their issues are frequently resolved. When agreements cannot
be reached, taxpayers have a right to formally appeal their values to the Tulare County
Assessment Appeals Board. An assessment appeal is a legal mechanism that ensures
property owners are afforded their rights to due process to contest their property values.

The Board is an independent, five-member panel made up of local tax and real estate

professionals whose function is to resolve disputes between the Assessor and taxpayers

2012 over the values of locally assessed property. The Appeals Board considers all evidence
ig% presented by the appellant and the Assessor at a formal hearing. The decisions of an

appeals board are legally binding and enforceable.

2013
529,
24% 2014 2015
283 282 22332 2017 Jo18
16% 16% 3% _e 2019 2020 2021
10% 16 211 191
06% 2% %

% = percentage of the total number of assessments

REQUEST FOR
VALUE REVIEW

Taxpayers can request the Assessor review their assessments when
they believe the taxable values of their properties exceed current
market value. Value reviews are performed free of charge and apply
only to assessments in the current tax year. Requests for value review

cannot be made for prior tax years.

Request for Value Review applications are available at the Assessor's
Office and on the Assessor's website, or they can be sent by mail upon

request.

When a completed application is received by the Assessor, a staff
appraiser reviews the assessment. If the market value is determined
to be less than the taxable value, the assessment will be reduced,
resulting in a credit of taxes owed or a refund.

Once an assessment is adjusted to reflect current market value, the
Assessor is required to perform annual reviews, making adjustments
to the taxable value either positively or negatively based on market

trends, until the market value exceeds the adjusted base year value.



The Tulare County Clerk issues many of the docu-
ments marking the milestones of life, including
birth, death and marriage certificates. The Clerk
also issues public and confidential marriage
licenses and deputy commissioner of marriage
certificates for those who want to officiate
weddings.

The Clerk files and posts for public inspection
Notices of Determination, Notices of Exemption
and all other environmental related documents.
The Clerk accepts for filing Fictitious Business
Name Statements, Statements of Fact, Oaths of
Office and Surety Bonds.

The Clerk is responsible for the registration of
notaries, legal document assistants, process
servers, unlawful detainer assistants and profes-

sional photocopiers.

The number of documents filed with the County
Clerk increased in nearly all categories in 2021,
possibly indicating a change related to the
COVID-19 pandemic. With the deadline to acquire
a REAL ID approaching, an increase is expected

in the number of requests for certified copies of
birth and marriage certificates. As of May 3, 2023,
air travelers must present federal-compliant iden-
tification such as a passport, military 1D, or REAL
ID, to board domestic flights. The ID requirement
also applies to the entrance of certain federal buil-
dings and facilities. Documented proof of identity
is required by the California Department of Motor
Vehicles to obtain a REAL ID.

Orders of birth, death and marriage certificates
can also be purchased online through a third-
party service called VitalCheck. Please visit the
Clerk's website at
tularecounty.ca.gov/clerkrecorder/

for more information.
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REAL ESTATE
DEEDS BY AREA

The County Recorder files, indexes and maintains a NO TRANSFER TAX* 9,133

wide variety of public documents associated with
land transactions in Tulare County. These recorded

UNINCORPORATED 2,063

documents are often used to determine the history
and ownership of real property and for other real

estate transactions. VISALIA 3,133

Recorded documents include grant deeds, deeds
of trust, mechanic’s liens, tax liens, reconveyances, TU LARE '|,'|'|3
subdivision and parcel maps, mining claim records

and military discharge papers. Document recording

requirements are governed by California legal PORTERVILLE 864
statute. Recorded documents are kept permanently

for research purposes and the issuing of certified DINUBA 331
copies.

Overall recordings increased from 100,300 in 2020 EXETER 250
to 13,424 in 2021, a 13% increase. Low mortgage

interest rates continued to motivate refinancing

activity. Recordings of mortgages and deeds of LINDSAY 13
trust increased 11.7% in 2021. Release of property

encumbrances also saw a significant increase (15%), FARMERSVILLE 81
indicating loans were replaced or paid off.

The number of documents recorded electronically WOODLAKE 79

increased from 56,676 in 2020 to 63,716 in 2021..

*Includes gifts, family transfers,

transfers in and out of trusts, etc.

113,424 DOCUMENTS RECORDED IN 2021

13% increase from 2020

18.2%

Mortgages/Deeds of Trust

23.4%

Release of Property Encumbrance

*Note: 43,207 other documents were recorded, many with multiple types



JANUARY 1

Taxes for the next fiscal year become a lien on all taxable property.

FEBRUARY 15

Deadline to file exemption claims, including those for veterans and disabled veterans.
Last day to file a Homeowners' Exemption claim to receive the maximum benefit.

APRIL 1

Deadline to file statements for business personal property, aircraft and boats.

APRIL 10

Last day to pay the second installment of secured property taxes without penalty.

JULY 1

First day of the property tax year (fiscal year).

JULY 2

First day to file an Assessment Appeal Application for the current tax year with the
Clerk of the Board of Supervisors.

AUGUST 31

Regular roll unsecured taxes are due.
Deadline to file with RMA an application for Williamson Act contract. If approved,

contracts take effect the following roll year.

SEPTEMBER/OCTOBER

Annual secured tax bills are mailed by the Tax Collector’s Office

NOVEMBER 30

Last day to file an Assessment Appeal Application for the current tax year.

DECEMBER 10

Last day to pay the first installment of secured property taxes without penalty.



Our vision is to provide exceptional customer

service in an accurate, innovative and efficient

manner. If our office can ever be of assistance

to you, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Office of the Assessor

221 S. Mooney Blvd.,, Room 102-E
Visalia, CA 93291-4593

Q (559) 636-5100

By (559) 737-4468 Fax

=4 Assessor@TulareCounty.ca.gov
tularecounty.ca.gov/assessor

Office of the Recorder

221S. Mooney Blvd., Room 103
Visalia, CA 93291-4593

Q (559) 636-5050

= (559) 740-4329 Fax

= Recorder@tularecounty.ca.gov
tularecounty.ca.gov/clerkrecorder

Office of the County Clerk

221 S. Mooney Blvd., Room 105
Visalia, CA 93291-4593

Q (559) 636-505]

5y (559) 740-4329 Fax

X4 Clerk@tularecounty.ca.gov
tularecounty.ca.gov/clerkrecorder



