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The State Board of Equalization Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate Office is committed to helping California 
taxpayers understand property tax laws, and be aware of exclusions and exemptions available to them.

Transfers of Property Between  
Parents and Children
Did you know that there is an exclusion from 
reassessment for real property transferred 
between parents and their children? 

Revenue and Taxation Code section 63.1 
allows property to be transferred between 
parents and children without reassessment. 
This exclusion, commonly referred to as 
Proposition 58, was approved by California 
voters in 1986, and effective through 
February 15, 2021. For transfers that occur on 
or after February 16, 2021, under Proposition 19, 
see Publication 800-1 Information Sheet, 
Property Tax Savings: Transfers Between 
Parents and Children. 

The exclusion under Proposition 58 is available 
for the following transfers:

• The transfer of a principal residence (no 
value limit);

• The transfer of up to one million dollars in 
assessed value of other real property.

The parent-child exclusion is available on 
transfers from a parent or parents to their:

• Son or daughter (born to or adopted)

• Stepchild

• Son-in-law or daughter-in-law

(It is also available on transfers from children to 
their parents.)

Potential for Tax Savings
Property taxes are based on the assessed 
value of your property. For purposes of 
property tax assessment in the state of 
California, real property is reassessed at market 
value if it is sold or transferred. As a result of 
the sale or transfer, the assessed value of the 
property and associated property taxes can 
sometimes increase significantly.

If the market value of the property at the time of 
the transfer or sale is more than the property’s 
current assessed value, then savings will 
result from receiving the parent-child transfer 
exclusion of section 63.1.

If the exclusion is granted, the current assessed 
value on the property when the property 
was owned by the parents will be the same 
when the property is owned by the child. For 
example, if the parents purchased the property 
in 1985 and its assessed value at the time of the 
transfer to their child was $150,000; and current 
fair market value of the property is $350,000, 
then the child will be paying less property tax 
because the assessed value is $200,000 less 
than the current market value. This would save 
the child over $2,000 in property taxes per year.

How to Apply for the Parent-Child 
Exclusion
Complete form BOE-58-AH, Claim for 
Reassessment Exclusion for Transfer Between 
Parent and Child.

Obtain the claim form from the County 
Assessor’s office where the property is located. 
Submit the completed form to the same office.

When to File Your Claim
To qualify for relief from the date of transfer, the 
claim must be filed with the County Assessor:

• Within three years of the transfer date, but 
before transferring the property to a third 
party.

Relief is still available after three years; 
however, it will only be applied prospectively 
from the year in which your claim form is filed.

PROPERTY TAX SAVINGS: TRANSFERS BETWEEN PARENTS AND CHILDREN
Occurring On or Before February 15, 2021

Publication 800-1a (6-22) 1

http://www.boe.ca.gov/tra/
https://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub800-1.pdf
https://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/sample_boe58ah_rev18.pdf


Helpful Hints
• This exclusion is not available for transfers

of property between siblings, even if the
parent gave or sold the property to the
sibling first. (The portion of the property
transferred from your sibling will be
reassessed.)

• The exclusion applies to real property
transfers between parents and children, but
not to transfers of legal entities between
parents and children. For example, if your
mother owns ABC Company that owns
a building and she transfers all of her
corporate voting stock to you, her daughter,
the transfer will not qualify for exclusion
from reassessment.

• The exclusion applies both ways–it can be
applied to either a transfer from a parent to
their child or from a child to their parent.

• If you are 55 or older, and selling your
principal residence to your child, your child
can benefit by transfer of your base year
value to them. But you cannot also claim a
transfer of base year value to a replacement
property you buy under section 69.5.

• If the market value of the transferred
property is less than the current assessed
value of the property at the time of the
transfer, then claiming the exclusion may not
be beneficial.

• The one million dollar value cap on a transfer
of a non-principal residence property is on
the assessed value, not market value.

• The one million dollar cap applies separately
to each eligible transferor. For example, a
mother and father can each transfer one
million dollars of non-principal residence
property to their child for a combined total
of two million dollars.

Where to Find Additional 
Information
Visit the State Board of Equalization’s 
website at www.boe.ca.gov for property tax 
information. Answers to frequently asked 
questions on the parent-child exclusion can be 
accessed at www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/faqs/
propositions58.htm.

Visit the County Assessor’s website where 
the property is located. The State Board of 
Equalization’s website has contact information 
for each Assessor in California. This listing 
is available at www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/
countycontacts.htm.
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