On May 12, 2020, the Tulare County Board of Supervisors approved the creation of an Advisory Redistricting Commission (Commission) composed of eleven county residents to recommend 2021 supervisorial district criteria and boundary changes to the Board. 

The Commission held 14 public meetings in all five supervisorial districts, specifically in: Visalia, Earlimart, Exeter, Tulare, Dinuba, Lindsay, Porterville, and Woodlake.  At the first seven meetings, Commissioners and staff presented information regarding the redistricting process in Tulare County, answered questions submitted by the public, and received public comment regarding communities of interest, and additional redistricting criteria. All seven informational meetings were conducted prior to the release of 2020 redistricting data by the United States Census Bureau. 

The final seven Commission meetings were held after the 2020 Census Data was released. These meetings provided an opportunity for the Commission and the community to view the 2020 Census data in the current supervisorial districts, determine the necessity of boundary changes, and finally draft and consider maps to recommend to the Board, the details of which are included in the Final Report.  During these community meetings, the Commission considered over 25 community-submitted maps, and created over 10 maps.  Extensive testimony was received from the public and analysis was provided on every map.

The Commission concluded its business on October 21 and submitted its Final Report to the Board of Supervisors on October 26, 2021. A copy of the Final Report is available here.


Commission Bylaws

To read the 2021 Advisory Redistricting Commission Bylaws, click here


Application & Selection Process

The application period for Commissioners was held from January 12, 2021 through April 30, 2021. At the Board meeting on May 11, 2021, each Supervisor selected one Commissioner from qualified applicants within their district and held a lottery to select the second Commissioner from applicants within their district. The eleventh Commissioner was selected at-large, by lottery, from the remaining qualified applicants from all districts.



    Supervisorial District Commissioner Email
    1 Rodney Blaco
    1 Ralph Diaz
    2 John Hobbs
    2 Marie Macedo
    3 Darlene Mata
    3 Luis Sepulveda
    4 Albert George
    4 Jose Verduzco
    5 Scott James II
    5 Edward McKervey
    3 (member at large) Lizbeth Gomez