Location: Multiple locations in the communities of Reedley, Dinuba, Visalia, Cutler
Incident Date: 11-08-18
Case Number: 18-14440
Victim: State of California
City: Reedley, Dinuba, Visalia, Cutler
Posted by: Dispatch
Initial Compliance Inspection Locations:
Follow Up Compliance Inspection Locations:
Suspects: Cited for Violation of Business & Professions Code 22972 (Failure to post Tobacco License)
SAL'S TOBACCO 647 El Monte way, Dinuba
LIQUOIR LOCKER 159 Crawford Ave, Dinuba
Deputies with the Tulare County Sheriff’s Department conducted Tobacco compliance inspections on November 8th, 2018.
At the conclusion of the compliance check, deputies found 2 of the businesses did not have their STAKE signs clearly visible, their tobacco license posted and their licenses were expired which are violations of The Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Act. Businesses out of compliance were given verbal warnings and educated on the STAKE Act and the current tobacco laws. Failure to comply with the current laws may include a fine as low as $200 and as high as $5,000. Retailers can also have their tobacco license suspended or permanently revoked.
Follow up inspections were also conducted on seven (7) businesses that were previously issued warnings and educated on the STAKE Act. Out of the (7) businesses, (2) failed to come into compliance by posting their Tobacco License and were issued citations.
Tulare County Sheriff Department Deputies will continue conducting these types of detail compliance checks to reduce the availability of tobacco to minors.
Tulare County Sheriff Department in collaboration with the Department of Justice are conducting retailor Tobacco compliance checks to educate retailers and reduce the availability of tobacco products to minors throughout rural communities in Tulare County. Statistics have shown that youth tobacco use in Tulare County is above average at 15.4% when compared to California’s 13.8%.
This project is being made possible by the Department of Justice Tobacco Grant, funded by the California Healthcare, Research and Prevention Tobacco Tax Act of 2016 (the “Act”), approved by the voters as Proposition 56.
The cases are currently under investigation. Anyone with information is encouraged to call the Tulare County Sheriff’s Department at (559)733-6218 or send anonymous information by sending a text or email to TCSO@tipnow.com or call 1-800-TIPNOW.