Tulare County Seal

Tulare County

Office of the Assessor/Clerk-Recorder


For immediate service, you can come to our main office and submit your request in person (last request by 3:00 p.m.) For requests by mail, please allow a processing time of 1-5 business days upon receipt.

You may order copies of your marriage certificate 10 days after the marriage license has been received by the Recorder's Office.

The California State Legislature has enacted laws to protect the citizens of California from identity theft. These laws prohibit our office from displaying Marriage Certificate copies online.

If you are unable to come in person, the fastest method of requesting a record is to make an online request through VitalChek.

No. Extended family members such as aunts, uncles, cousins, nieces and nephews are unable to obtain authorized copies of a certificate. However, an informational copy may be obtained, which is not valid for legal purposes


  • Visit our office at 221 S. Mooney Blvd., Room 105, Visalia, Calif.

  • Complete an application and present a valid, government-issued photo ID.

  • If the certificates being requested are from 1998 to present, copies will be available the same day as requested. Copies of certificates from prior to 1998 are available for pick up the following business day. Certificates can also be mailed to you.

  • The County Clerk accepts cash, checks, credit cards and money orders. An additional processing fee will apply to credit card transactions.


  • Complete an application. If you are ordering authorized copies, please complete page 2 of the application and have your sworn statement notarized by a notary public.

  • Mail your completed application and payment to Tulare County Clerk-Recorder, 221 S. Mooney Blvd., Rm. 105, Visalia, CA 93291-4593.

  • Once your application has been processed, your certificate(s) will be mailed to you.

  • The County Clerk accepts only checks and money orders when ordering by mail.


  • Place your order online by using VitalChek. This will connect you to a third-party company that is authorized by this office to process birth, death and marriage certificates.

  • An additional processing fee will apply to all online orders.

  • Credit cards are accepted.